Central Luzon Local Search
Login †∑† Register †∑† Help †∑† Site Index
Helping Central Luzon businesses and service professionals attract more clients.

Aurora Province Information

Article Index
Aurora Province Information
Aurora History
Tourist Attraction

Aurora History

Aurora was for the first time searched through by Juan de Salcedo in 1571 when he had reached Baler and Casiguran from Laguna. A Franciscan mission was established in Baler in 1607. Baler was ruined by a tidal wave from the Pacific Ocean in 1735 and the remaining alive inhabitants made a choice to transfer to more elevated ground. The village of Binondo was established away from the coast by Jose de Torres, Manuel Cuya and Gregorio Pacacio in 1814.

When Manuel Luis Quezon, the first president of the Philippine Commonwealth, unexpectedly went to see Binondo, it was made larger and named Aurora in honor of his wife. The municipalities now constituting the province of Aurora were organized in 1851 as a subprovince of Quezon. The municipality of Aurora was renamed Maria Aurora. Aurora came to be a separate province from Quezon on August 13, 1979 by authority of Batas Pambansa Bilang 7. Quezon was formerly called Tayabas, which was formerly called Kalilaya.


Create an Account †·† Site Search †·† Privacy Policy †·† Terms of Use †·† Contact Us
© 2013 Central Luzon dot com. Some rights reserved.